The people have spoken, but Sierra Leone goes to the polls again on March 27

Sierra Leone's chief electoral commissioner Mohamed N'fah-Alie Conteh has announced the final results of the presidential election. Conteh said the total number of valid votes is 2,537,122

Presidential and parliamentary elections were held in Sierra Leone on March 7.

"Since none of the candidates of the parties for the presidential election received 55 percent of the valid votes," Commissioner Conteh said, "there will be a second election (run-off) exclusively between the All People's Congress (APC) presidential candidate Dr. Samura M. Kamara and Sierra Leone People's Party candidate Julius Maada Bio conducted nationwide on Tuesday 27th March 2018."

Sixteen presidential candidates competed in the first round of the presidential election, including one woman Josephine Olufemi Claudius-Cole of the Unity Party. 

Julius Maada Bio, Sierra Leone People's Party, 1,097, 482, 43.3 percent
Samura M.W. Kamara, All People's Congress, 1,082,748, 42.7 percent
Kandeh K. Yumkella, National Grand Coalition, 174, 014, 6.9 percent
Samual Sam-Sumana, Coalition for Change, 87,720, 3.5 percent
Mohamed Kamaraimba Mansaray, Alliance Democratic Party, 26,704, 1.1 percent
Gbandi J. Ngobeh, Revolutionary United Front Party, 12, 827, 0.5 percent
Musa Tarawallay, Citizens' Democratic Party, 11,493, 0.5 percent
Charles F. Margai, Peoples Movement for Democratic Change, 9,864, 0.4 percent
Mohamed Chernoh Bah, National Democratic Alliance, 8,344, 0.4 percent
Mohamed Sowa-Turay, United Democratic Movement, 5,695,
Patrick J. O'Dwyer, National Progressive Democrats, 4,239,  0.2 percent
Kandeh Baba Conteh, Peace and Liberation Party, 4,233,   0.2 percent
Josephine Olufemi Claudius-Cole, Unity Party, 3,825,        0.2 percent
Henry Saa Kabuta, United National Peoples Party, 3,061,  0.1 percent
Beresford V. Williams, Republic National Independent Party,  2,555, 0.1 percent
Patrick J. Sandy, National Unity and Reconciliation Party, 2,318,  0.1 percent

In 2007, when a second round was held between the top two candidates, Ernest Bai Koroma of the All People's Congress (APC) and Solomon Berewa of the Sierra Leone People's Party (SLPP),  Koroma won the election with 54.6% of the vote.


Popular posts from this blog

While the world is busy getting through the pandemic, this happened in Freetown

Ethnicity, Development, and Democracy on Independence Day

What's the point of a 100-day Benchmark three years After the Fact ?